New laureates of the Four Freedoms Awards

Today the Four Freedoms Awards are being presented in Middelburg. Three people and two organisations will receive an award because they have devoted themselves with great dedication to President Roosevelt’s Four Freedoms: freedom of speech, of worship, from want and from fear. Their names will be added to the monument ‘Walk of Freedom’ in Cadzand.

The laureates of the Four Freedoms Awards 2020 are Filipino journalist Maria Ressa, journalist and television presenter Sander de Kramer (Sunday Foundation), Religions for Peace (Azza Karam), the mayor of Palermo Leoluca Orlando and the United Nations (António Guterres).

Walk of Freedom
The Walk of Freedom is a monument to a design by OKRA on a prominent spot in Cadzand. It is a tribute to those who have received, and who will receive, the biennially awarded Four Freedoms Awards. The monument is an enrichment for Cadzand with its Peace Monument and the World Peace Flame. The Walk of Freedom was created at the junction between Boulevard de Wielingen and the marina, on a fold in the sloping square. Its design is a fold in the wooden square, in which elongated reflective surfaces have been placed. The observer sees himself and sees the sky.

Monument to the future
The Walk of Freedom is a monument to the future. It is characterised by the fact that it is an expanding monument. The idea is that there will always be people who are committed to the core values of freedom. And there will always be people who are honoured by the Roosevelt Foundation and the Franklin and Eleanor Roosevelt Institute. Such as today.